Skip to content

Glee Review: Diva

February 10, 2013

WARNING: This post is full of spoilers from Thursday night’s episode of Glee called “Diva”. If you haven’t seen it, go watch or wiki it and come back! Also, these are my opinions and CLEARLY do not represent Fox or its affiliates.

Alright. I feel like Season 4 is finally getting interesting. It was alright before the break, but it was on the same footing as Season 2. Kind of dull and not getting anywhere.

So it’s Diva Week at McKinley, an idea Finn and Emma come up with to empower the glee club, honestly, it just doesn’t feel like a real Diva Week without Mercedes. But alas here comes Santana to the rescue.

But before I get into all that, I want to state that I think that opening with a cover of Beyonce’s “Diva” was pretty awesome. I just wanted a little less Unique and a little more Brittany and Tina. Unique should have at least another season to shine unless Ryan decides to can him like he did Damien McGinty (RORY!!!).

There wasn’t a terrible song cover this week at all. I HATE this song “Girl on Fire” with a blind passion, but Santana killed it. Blaine’s rendition of “Don’t Stop Me Now” made me fall in love with him all over again and Kurt blew Rachel away during “Bring Him Home”.

Sorry, not sorry. KURT DID A BETTER JOB THAN RACHEL!

I am so tired of NYADA though. I miss Kurt and Isabella’s relationship. But I think Santana coming to live with them is going to be awesome. It’s ZERO secret that I am a HUGE Brittany/Santana/Brittana fan so Santana having a bunch of screen time doesn’t bother me.

I loved the duet with Sam and Santana of “Make No Mistake (She’s Mine)”. Classic story of two ex-boyfriend and girlfriend competing for another woman. I’m a little glad Brittany chose Sam though (gasp!) because I think she needs him right now. And it gave Santana that final boost to move to New York

I was super weirded out by the Finn/Emma kiss. It was just so random the first time I watched the episode. But when I watched it a second time, it kind of built up to it. It was such a Finn thing to do. Because clearly, whenever someone struggling with OCD has an anxiety attack in front of me, my reaction is to kiss them. I want to see how this plays out next week. I’m also totally weirded out by Tina. I understand what it’s like to have a crush on a man who is gay. But after I found out he was gay, the crush dissipated. But she was able to find her inner Diva and win Diva Week. And she actually had the best performance of the night with “Hung Up”.

So it was no surprise to me when Tina won. I am for one happy to see Tina get more screen time. When the old kids graduated I thought the show would focus more on her character and to my disappointment, I get to be bored with Marley… So Ryan don’t let me down.

Next week is supposed to be about Will and Emma’s wedding (FINALLY) and I’m excited about it. I feel like the show has a good momentum going and I want to know about that kiss! And I want more Kitty (here’s hoping).

I’ll leave you with Tina Cohen-Chang’s awesome version of Madonna’s “Hung Up”:

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

