Skip to content

Why Veteran’s Day Is Important to Me…

November 11, 2013

Tomorrow is Veteran’s Day. I’ve always appreciated our service members and those who have retired and have worked to keep our country safe. I really wanted William to be born on 11/11, but alas he was born on the 16th haha. But this year feels different to me. I think it is because I have gotten to know more people who are or were in the military and they helped guide my decision to join the Army. And I think it’s more special to me because I am enlisted and waiting to go to basic combat training. I think about all of those who have come before me. I think about their reasons for joining the service. And it’s so unreal to me that I will be a part of that. The 1% who are active military.

I think of my father and my grandfathers who are retired Air Force/Army National Guard. I remember being proud of my dad for what he did, even if I wasn’t too sure what he did at the time. I remember looking at the old picture of my grandfather on the wall of our grandparents house. He was in uniform and he looked like a movie star. I am so proud of them and what they did for our country. I always have been.

I think of how celebrated our veterans are. It’s more than just discounts and free meals on Veteran’s Day.Or a random facebook or even blog post.  It’s those who fought for our rights. The people who protect us. The men and women who laid it all on the line for our country. It’s mind-blowing to think about. It’s something we should appreciate more than once a year. But like most other important people and events, these people usually are only important once a year. I dunno. I think this is a special day and it probably will be for the rest of my life. More important than it used to be.

So thanks, dad.

Thanks Papaw.

And I’ll forever remember my grandfather and the great man he was.

Thanks to everyone who has come before me and served.

As We Express Our Gratitude,
We Must Never Forget That The Highest Appreciation
Is Not To Utter Words, But To Live By Them.
-John Fitzgerald Kennedy

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

