Skip to content

Dear Fellow Future Soldiers

January 19, 2014

Here we are at a new year. Most of the future soldiers I know are preparing to leave soon, much like myself. Some of you may have a few more weeks or even months before you leave for basic combat training.

I just want to say that we can do it. I can do it and you can do it.

I’ve been getting excited but nervous at the same time. I read things online about what it’s like at boot camp and I’ve watched the videos. But really, I have zero idea what to expect and there have been times where I have lay awake at night thinking “What the hell did I get myself into?” But I am proud of my enlistment and am very proud of myself for all of the PT and studying I’ve been doing in order to better myself before I get to Fort Jackson.

I hope you all have been working hard instead of hardly working and keeping a strong mind as well as body. I hope you’re doing this for the right reasons and are looking forward to serving our country (even if the money and health benefits are good too lol). We’re going to miss our families and our friends and it’s going to be a lot of hard work and so much change in such a short time. What I want to say to you guys is: We can do it. I said it above I know. But we really can. I don’t know about all of you, but I have people in my life who don’t believe in me. Ok, they’re not big in my life. It’s mostly my husband’s co-workers and family. People who don’t really know me. But I’m sure there are many of you in the same boat. But remember that it doesn’t matter what anyone thinks. Just believe in yourself. And please don’t do anything stupid once you get there. Or beforehand.

I have some customers at my store who have served in various branches of the military and have given me some good advice. I hope you guys have people like that for you. Mostly they tell me that I will have fun; it’ll be hard work, but I will have fun. One sweet man that is a regular came in and before giving me a hug he told me to make sure I listen to the Drill Sergeant, but imagine something pleasant so I’d take the info in better. I don’t know if that’ll happen but I know that they do care about making us into better soldiers, we just gotta listen and learn.

There will be moments when we doubt ourselves and our decisions and think “Holy crap, what did I do?” We did something that 99% of the nation won’t do. Will will push through and fight and work hard to become the best soldiers we can be. We can do it. This might be my last blog post for a while (unless I blog tomorrow) because I leave very soon so I want to say that I believe in you guys and HOOAH!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment